šŸ‘® A false bite mark and a life sentence

PLUS: Facebook sperm donors and Harry Potter after Voldemort.

Hi šŸ‘‹ 

Weā€™re back with another list of some of the best longform writing across the internet! šŸ’Ŗ

And itā€™s quite the list this week. (I know I say that every week, but I also mean it everytime. And you know Iā€™m right šŸ˜Ž)

You probably havenā€™t noticed, but itā€™s been quite some time since I last shared a knockout crime story. Weā€™re changing that this week.

Our spotlight story follows a man wrongfully convicted of murderā€”based on some of the shoddiest detective work Iā€™ve ever seen, for the recordā€”and his quest for freedom, going up against arrogant prosecutors and a corrupt, inept system.

And donā€™t think that Iā€™m spoiling the story, because its beauty is in its details.

If crime isnā€™t your speed, then there are many more incredible stories down below to choose from. Maybe you want to know what happened to Harry Potter. Or maybe youā€™re trying to hang on to your last shred of hope about the climate meltdown. Have you maybe found yourself on #BookTok and are intrigued by the lives of some of the biggest authors on the planet?

Even if youā€™re the type to look for a sperm donor on Facebook (hey, no judgement), this weekā€™s newsletter will have something interesting for you.

In any case, as with last week, please let me know what you think of the list this week by voting in the poll below. šŸ™

And weā€™re still trying to grow the newsletter! If you like what you read, please consider helping us grow by sharing it to your friends, colleagues and family! I turned a year older recently, so helping me grow The Lazy Reader would be an incredible birthday gift šŸ«¶

Happy reading and see you again next Monday!

One long readā€¦

Itā€™s been a while since I last lost myself in a good crime story. I was starting to miss the genre, actually, then this one came along and wow. Makes all the waiting worth it.

This is a massive story. A yearā€™s worth of research, according to the endnote. It dives deep into the life and history of one person (the titular Robert DuBoise) but it also spreads itself wide across decades and a diverse cast of characters and many other crimes.

And I know I called this a crime story, but I think it uses crime more as a vehicle for its actual main theme, which is criminal justiceā€”and the corruption and ineptitude and politicking that erode this system.

But if youā€™re into crime for the gore and the blood and the drama, then thereā€™s a lot of that too. (If youā€™re not, and if youā€™re actively avoiding those things, then you may want to skip this story).

Itā€™s also really well-written. Sentences are short and punchy, and even when theyā€™re long and winding, itā€™s easy to find your footing and stick with the narrative. At the risk of sounding pretentious: The writing sings in this story, and it really brings you along. It doesnā€™t feel like youā€™re reading thousands upon thousands of words.

This is a very, very long story. Easily two hours. Might even take you three hours if youā€™re a slow reader. But itā€™s broken up into manageable chunks each under a subhead, so itā€™s easy to step away from it and dive back in.

ā€¦ and then some

I didnā€™t think Iā€™d like this profile too much. And I didnā€™tā€”at least not initially. But Iā€™ve found that itā€™s a slow burn, and in the days since I read it, the charm of Daniel Radcliffe has grown on me. So much so that I considered making it our spotlight story of the week. I wouldnā€™t say this profile really taps into something profound about the human psyche or something, but itā€™s a really compelling read about someone who has lived a very extraordinary life. Definitely find time for this. Shame itā€™s behind a paywall. But you can hit me up and I can help you get access.

A pretty long article, but itā€™s a fun read. Iā€™d say 1 hour if you stay focused.

šŸ« Bitter Sweets | Fortune, Free

I did quite a bit of digging in my archive this week and I found thisā€”one of the best investigations into third-world labor exploitation Iā€™ve ever read. Thereā€™s something so jarring when I think about all the abuse poor people (and children for that matter) had to endure just to produce a bar of chocolate, a luxury. This story also does a good job of showing just how complex the issue is, and how disjuncted efforts by corporations, nonprofits, and governments will never be enough to solve the problem of modern-day slavery.

A very long story, but also very important. If you have an hour or so, definitely read this.

Iā€™ve been doing a lot of reading lately about food, and this one looks at the industry lobby aspect. So much moneyā€”apparentlyā€”goes into making sure that weā€™re kept unaware of the dangers of ultra-processed foods. Thatā€™s pretty worrisome for me, because even if I like to consider myself as a home cook, I still use many of these ultra-processed foods (seasonings, condiments, sauces) in my dishes.

Not too long, though it can be tough to read with all the figures and jargon. Maybe 25 minutes if you stay focused.

This is an outrageous headline and an outrageous premise, but the story that follows doesnā€™t disappoint. I think my mouth was agape throughout. But the story also does a great job of slowly peeling the layers of unbelievable-ness so that by the middle of the story, the shock value of looking for sperm donors on Facebook (of all places) starts to make more and more sense. Really great writing.

Pretty long, ut it doesnā€™t feel like it, at least in my opinion. Iā€™d say 30 minutes, though I might be underestimating that.

I love this essay. Itā€™s pretty dated (itā€™s from 2016), but I think many of the points it makes are still relevant todayā€”if not more so. There's a lot of un-recognized complicity from the so-called Developed World for the economic (and, in turn, democratic, social and human rights) backwardness of the Global South. Denying that doesn't seem to be productive.

A relatively quick read. If youā€™re motivated by anger, like I am, then this one will be even faster. Maybe 30 minutes, distractions included.

šŸŒ³ Make Like a Tree and Stay With Us | The Globe and Mail, Free

I think Iā€™ve grown a soft spot for essays. That, or Iā€™ve just been stumbling into some great first-person thinkpieces like this one. The writer does a great exercise of figuring out where to transplant his Douglas fir, which will outlive him and his children by dozens of years. What ensues is a really thoughtful meditation on time, the environment, and our role as humans. And, of course, the climate crisis. Whoā€™d have thought that the greatest lesson a tree could teach us is hope?

Pretty long, but not too difficult to read through, Iā€™d say. Itā€™s also pretty helpful if youā€™ve been feeling hopeless about the destruction of the environment. Iā€™d give it 45 minutes.

I recently finished the podcast series Scamanda and it reminded me of this profile, which I read a couple of years back. Of course, the exact details donā€™t quite match up, but the overall shape of the con and the lies and the arrogance of it all are very similar. Medical fraud, impersonation, and a charming liarā€”are these the central characteristics of a good con?

A very long story. And if Iā€™m being honest, it can get dragging in some parts where details get too thick. Iā€™d set aside 1 hour and 30 minutes for it.

This is a really heartfelt and beautiful essay. It touches on family, inter-generational bonds, and the power and fallibility of memory. If youā€™ve had someone in your life go through dementia or Alzheimerā€™s or any of those neurodegenerative diseases, then this will really resonate with you. And thereā€™s really not a grand lesson, I thinkā€”itā€™s more a tribute to a person who is very important to the writer.

This is a very fast read. I donā€™t even think this qualifies as longform, necessarily. But itā€™s beautiful and I think you should read it. 10 minutes will be enough. Hit me up for an un-paywalled link.

Remember how I said up top that I missed reading crime stories? This is a perfect example of why. Some crimes are just so brazen that they make fiction seem tame by comparison. The title of this article kinda gives the whole story away, but the details are really still so shocking. How did this person not think that heā€™d be in the cross-hairs of law enforcement?

Not a particularly long story. Maybe 45 minutes tops, distractions included.

How did you like this week's list?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Bonus reco!

Thereā€™s a very fervid debate going on right now in the field of childhood and adolescent development. Okayā€”that might not sound like the most exciting thing, but trust me: itā€™s absolutely important.

Unsurprisingly, at the heart of everything is the smartphone. And social media.

We've featured one side of the debate here before, and now I think itā€™d be good to share another article that gave an opposing view. It helps, too, that the arguments from both ends are compelling and play out either through published research or overwhelming anecdotal evidence.

I donā€™t have a horse in this race, so to speak, and neither side is more compelling, for me, than the other.

But I think both sides agree that we should be doing more research into smartphones, social media, and their effects on human psychology. This I agree with, because it seems very highly unlikely to me that these new technologies are just inert players in our lives. It seems impossible that they arenā€™t affecting our bodies, both mentally and physically.

Weā€™re still years (decades, even) away from figuring that out, though.

In the meantime, we can just sit back and enjoy the spirited back-and-forth.

Around the world

Here are some of the most important/interesting/infuriating news bits from around the world last week:

1 - Trump has been found guilty on more than 30 counts of falsifying documents related to hush-money.
+ The conviction will complicate the U.S. elections later this year.
+ But Republicans appear to be rallying to Trumpā€™s side.

2 - After telling Gazans to evacuate to Rafah or else, Israel bombs the encampment into the ground, killing an untold number of innocent people.
+ The ICJ has ordered Israel to stop bombing gaza. The ruling has been very hotly contested.
+ Joining the growing number of detractors, Brazil has pulled its ambassador from Israel.

3 - In the U.K., Assange can challenge the U.S.ā€™s extradition bid anew, according to the High Court.

4 - Meanwhile, North Korea is combatting its southern neighborā€™s propaganda war by sending over balloons of shit. Literally.

5 - South Africa went to the polls last week, and early results donā€™t bode well for the African National Party. The ruling party could lose the majority for the first time since 1994.

6 - More in infuriating Media news: The Atlantic and Vox have signed licensing deals with OpenAI. Why do I feel like theyā€™re signing off on the death certificate of the Media as we know it.

Thanks for reading! Please, please reach out if you have feedback, suggestions, or questions. I know some of the stories I recommend might be behind paywalls, and maybe I can help you with access to those, too!

Also, Iā€™d appreciate it so much if you help me grow by sharing The Lazy Reader with friends or family who you think might also enjoy a good longform story šŸ«¶

Until next Monday! šŸ‘‹ 

Reply

or to participate.