šŸ‘— SHEIN Takes Over the World

PLUS: Dumping in the Deep, and a thinkpiece about... Bluey? šŸ¶

Hi šŸ‘‹ 

We hit 200 subs last week! šŸŽ‰

I know itā€™s not an astronomical number, and some newsletter creators out there wonā€™t even get out of bed for 200 subs.

But Iā€™m still super new to this so every tiny milestone matters a lot. Plus Iā€™m going at this completely alone and am only doing this on the side. Between work (which has been extra hectic lately) and still trying to carve out a bit of life for myself, I have very little time and energy left to market the newsletter aggressivelyā€”if at all. For me, 200 is something to be proud of. šŸ„°

Anyway!! I wasnā€™t actually sure that Iā€™d be able put together a big list for you because the Mediaā€™s longform machine was a bit slow last week. It picked up a bit in the latter half, but by that time I was already scrambling to assemble the newsletter.

So I dug into my archive for this weekā€™s edition. But that shouldnā€™t matter! Good stories are evergreen, I always say. And I picked out some of the best stories for you.

In any case, as with last week, please let me know what you think of the list this week by voting in the poll below. šŸ™

And weā€™re still trying to grow the newsletter! If you like what you read, please consider helping us grow by sharing it to your friends, colleagues and family! šŸ«¶

Happy reading and see you again next Monday!

One long readā€¦

Spotlighting something a bit out of my wheelhouse this week.

Iā€™ve never been too big into fashion, which I think is a shame because itā€™s such a fertile field for the things that I am into, like politics, social justice, health and labor abuse.

This story doesnā€™t dive into those. It mostly focuses solely on fashion: its history, pioneers, and the industry as it is today. But I still found it very fascinating. I never knew Zara was the first fast fashion brand, and that it pioneered so many of the conveniences we enjoy today.

SHEIN makes for a really good subject, too. It takes all the logistical groundwork made by the other companies that came before it and combines it with the tehnological advancements of the 21st century.

The result is unprecedented e-commerce efficiencyā€”SHEIN promises to get your clothes to you, from their sweatshops and warehouses in Asia, in just daysā€”and, unfortunately, the accelerated meltdown of the planet.

That brings me to my biggest gripe about this: I wish there was a closer and deeper look at the problems of the fast fashion industry. Iā€™m sure thereā€™s no shortage of overflowing landfills, mountains of plastic waste, and entire communities of exploited and overworked people.

But maybe thatā€™s not the point of the article in the first place. Maybe Iā€™m just nitpicking at this point.

This is an incredible read nevertheless. Trust me.

šŸ•“ A long story, but not too difficult. Maybe two hours. Or more if you like to take breaks.

ā€¦ and then some

1 - A Thousand Pounds of Dynamite | The Atavist Magazine, $ (If youā€™ve used up your three free stories)

Weā€™re big fans of The Atavist here at TLR, and these types of stories are exactly why. Without having access to the main character of the story, the writer was still able to craft this incredibly detailed, deeply human piece that makes me feel like Iā€™ve gotten to know these people on a very intimate level. Definitely one of my very favorite pieces of longform writing ever.

šŸ•“ This one is very long and reads almost like a book. Be prepared to be in that headspace when you take this story on. Iā€™d say youā€™d need to commit 2 hours at least.

2 - Radioactive Waste, Baby Bottles and Spam: The Deep Ocean Has Become a Dumping Ground | The Guardian, Free

Thereā€™s a very real, very clear link between our over-consumption and the climate crisis, and I think this story captures it very well. There are places on this planet that weā€™ve not even imagined exists, but our trash has already reached. If thatā€™s not enough of an indictment, then I donā€™t know what is.

šŸ•“ Not too long, but also not a quick read. Maybe 1 hour if youā€™re distracted.

3 - Democracy Dies Behind Paywalls | The Atlantic, $

I know what youā€™re thinking: The irony of having this story behind a paywall is so very delicious. The author points that out, tooā€”and makes what I personally think is a flimsy rationale for itā€”but there are still some very interesting nuggets of information here. Iā€™m not sure that I agree with all of the writerā€™s takes, but it at least gave me something to think about.

šŸ•“ Also not a long story. Might take you around 30 minutes.

4 - Why the Internet Isnā€™t Fun Anymore | The New Yorker, $

Look: I adore Kyle Chayka. I spotlighted one of his essays for the very first issue of TLR. So itā€™s no surprise that he made it back on the list, and this essay is thoughtful and fun and unexpectedly deep in ways that only Kyle can pull off. That said, Iā€™m not sure I agree with it completely. At times, it felt like his writing was driven by nostalgia rather than by the actual strength of his points.

šŸ•“ Maybe 45 to 50 minutes, distractions included.

5 - Protecting Dark Sky Country | NOƉMA Magazine, Free

NOƉMA has quickly been climbing up my list of favorite outfits. This story made the rounds a couple of weeks back, but I only had time for it last weekā€”and boy do I regret putting it off. Itā€™s such a good meditation on modern society, and what we give up for it. Plus points for the cool visuals and incredible photos of the night sky.

šŸ•“ Not a particularly long story. 30 minutes tops if you stay focused.

6 - ā€˜Urgency Cultureā€™ Might Lead You to Burnout. How Can You Combat It? | National Geographic, Free

Speaking of modern societyā€¦ this quick breakdown from Nat Geo looks at how pressures from all around us push us to be rushing all the time, even when thereā€™s no need to. What are we sacrificing in return?

šŸ•“ Not long at all. This is arguably even not a longform story (but I just had to put it in here!). Around 15 minutes.

7 - The Launch | The California Sunday Magazine, Free

I never thought Iā€™d care enough about apples to read through what is easily 5,000 words about them. I donā€™t even like apples all that much. But truthfully, I think this piece is less about apples per se and more about apples as a market phenomenonā€”and the million-dollar industry that has formed itself around the humble fruit. Definitely a compelling read.

šŸ•“ Very long and, arguably, not that gripping. Itā€™s apples. Could take you well over an hour.

8 - Blueyā€™s Very Special Episode | Slate, Free

I donā€™t have a child, but I do have a very adorable, very playful nephew who abolsutely loves Bluey. He always asks me to watch the show with him, even replaying the scenes he finds funny over and over again. So thatā€™s probably why Iā€™ve grown fond of the it, too. But I agree with the writer of this essay: For a cartoon about fictional dogs, Bluey is so very real and human. Itā€™s no surprise adults (both parents and non-parents like me) are enamored by it.

šŸ•“ Not a particularly long essay. Maybe 35 to 45 minutes depending on how focused you stay.

9 - Millennials Will be the Richest Generation Ever, But Who Gets that Wealth is Down to Luck | The Guardian, Free

This was a tough readā€”if only because Iā€™m a millennial myself and am experiencing this first-hand. Iā€™d love for the world be still be what it was like during my parentsā€™ time, because I know I work hard and would be reasonably rewarded for itā€¦ but alas. If nothing else, at least this article might give you a sense of community: weā€™re all stuck in this sad sh** together.

šŸ•“ Also not especially long, but, as I said, difficult. Might take you 45 minutes or more.

10 - Rage, Waste and Corruption: How Covid Changed Politics | The Guardian, Free

I know COVID-19 is probably passĆ© at this point, and everyoneā€™s still too tired to really seriously talk (or read) about it. But I think thereā€™s still some value in thinking about what the author calls ā€œpolitical long Covidā€ā€”especially ahead of one of the most important elections for democracy worldwide. And yes. For better or worse, the U.S.ā€™s elections will have very heavy ramifications for everyone else around the planet.

šŸ•“ A long article that, if Iā€™m being honest, felt a bit dragging at times. But itā€™s not bad. Maybe 1 hour at least.

How did you like this week's list?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Bonus reco!

If youā€™re into longform writing, then Iā€™m willing to bet that you appreciate a good, well-told story, regardless of the medium. So these types of deeply reported podcasts should be right up your alley.

Reading the story about SHEIN really put me in the mood to think about trash and the politics surrounding itā€”as well as the lives affected by it.

I listened to the first season of The City right when it came out in 2018 or 2019 (BC, or Before Covid). But I still think about it sometimes, especially when I pass through neighborhoods living with towering, seemingly evergreen mountains of trash.

I hope you enjoy this show as much as I did, and let me know if you think I should do more podcast recos!

Around the world

Here are some of the most important/interesting/infuriating news bits from around the world last week:

1 - Iran fires back at Israel.
+ There is not a good guy in this scenario, but it bears clarifying that Iran was just retaliating. Israel first bombed Iranā€™s consulate in Syria, killing seven people.
+ Incredible reporting from The Cradle: The U.S. tried (and failed) to get Iran to allow Israel ā€œa symbolic strike to save face.ā€œ Iā€™m sorry but this is absolutely ridiculous.

2 - Another earthquake, this time hitting a handful of provinces in western Japan.
+ Also in Japan, a man stole a gold tea bowl worth $65,000 (Ā„10 million) and admitted to police that he considered actually drinking tea out of the bowl.

3 - Yet another earthquake?! A magnitude 5.6 quake strikes off Taiwanā€™s coast.

4 - In poorer nations, NestlĆ© spikes its baby products with sugar. Iā€™m no expert on international law, but this canā€™t be right. Can it?

5 - 2024 isnā€™t Muskā€™s year so far. Tesla runs into a financial rough patch and is forced to shed 10% of its headcount, sending its stocks tumbling.

6 - In South Korea, the doctorsā€™ strike just got very real: A woman died after waiting for hours for her heart surgery.

7 - A.I. has doctors beat at evaluating eye problems, according to a study from the University of Cambridge.
+ Another boon of A.I. in medicine: It can speed up the drug development process for Parkinsonā€™s disease.

Thanks for reading! Please, please reach out if you have feedback, suggestions, or questions. I know some of the stories I recommend might be behind paywalls, and maybe I can help you with access to those, too!

Also, Iā€™d appreciate it so much if you help me grow by sharing The Lazy Reader with friends or family who you think might also enjoy a good longform story šŸ«¶

Until next Monday! šŸ‘‹LR1

Reply

or to participate.