Clinically Meaningful but Out of Reach šŸ’Š

A Reading List on Pharma, Money, and How our Meds Get Made šŸ’‰šŸ¤‘

Hi šŸ‘‹ 

If youā€™re out of the loop, this is a new series for The Lazy Reader: Themed reading lists.

On Thursdays, weā€™ll send out five or so reading recommendations that fall under a specific category. Maybe itā€™s about the pharma industry and how our medicines get made, or maybe itā€™s about death and what it tells us about living.

The goal is to make this a weekly thing, but that might not be possible straight away. (Running a newsletter on top of a freelance business is stretching me to my absolute limit). Weā€™ll start sending every other week and then hopefully move to a weekly rhythm in a few monthsā€™ time.

Of course, this wonā€™t affect our weekly Longread Lists on Mondays.

Happy reading!

Clinically Meaningfulā€¦ but Out of Reach

In January of this year, I was diagnosed with GADā€”generalized anxiety disorder. It came after months of having sleep problems, where Iā€™d go for days with not a wink of sleep. Sometimes, Iā€™d have to suppress panic attacks (mostly unsuccessfully) just to get some rest at night.

Needless to say, it was an awful time.

So I welcomed the diagnosis with relief. Finally, I thought to myself, maybe Iā€™d fall back into a regular sleep schedule.

But I quickly realized that that comfort came at a steep priceā€”literally: my medication regimen isnā€™t cheap. All of a sudden, I was shelling out some 10% of my monthly income just to temper the chemical imbalance in my brain. I had to draw up a new budget for myself and scramble for additional work just so I could stay on top of my bills and other expenses.

Iā€™m lucky too have had a bit of leeway, money-wise. Others arenā€™t as fortunate.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to The Lazy Reader to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.